Home Football Panic As Wilfred Ndidi Adds To Nigeria Injury list; To Miss Algeria...

Panic As Wilfred Ndidi Adds To Nigeria Injury list; To Miss Algeria Clash

Wilfred Ndidi will play not take part in Nigeria’s friendly game with Algeria on Tuesday after sustaining an injury in the training camp.

Nigeria’s injury woes know no bounds, with one step forward always met by another step back and this time it is Ndidi that has dealt a blow to Jose Santos Peseiro’s squad.

The Leicester midfielder becomes the fourth player to miss the friendly after team captain Ahmed Musa, Henry Onyekuru, Leon Balogun and Samuel Chukwueze all missed out due to injuries.

The three-times African Cup Of Nations (AFCON) champions have a training game against Algeria’s ‘B’ squad on Saturday in order to see a number of new and returning players in action, ahead of the official game against the Fennecs (Algeria’s ‘A’ team) in Oran on Tuesday evening.

Goalkeeper Maduka Okoye, defender Kevin Akpoguma, midfielder Wilfred Ndidi and forward Chidera Ejuke are returning to the squad after some period out, while midfielder Richard Onyedika and forward Godwin Saviour are joining up with the big boys for the first time.

Israel-based goalkeeper Adeleye Adebayo was in the squad for summer’s AFCON qualifying matches against Sierra Leone and Sao Tome and Principe but did not see action.

Tuesday’s clash will be only the second-ever friendly match between the Fennecs and the Super Eagles, with the two-time African champions edging a clash in Austria in October 2020 by the odd goal.

When both teams clashed in a 2006 FIFA World Cup qualifying match in Oran in September 2005, the Super Eagles ran out 5-2 winners.




Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Maduka Okoye, Adeleye Adebayo

Defenders: William Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Chidozie Awaziem, Olaoluwa Aina, Calvin Bassey, Zaidu Sanusi, Kevin Akpoguma, Valentine Ozornwafor, Ebube Duru

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka, Alex Iwobi, Richard Onyedika

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon, Godwin Saviour, Ademola Lookman, Taiwo Awoniyi, Chidera Ejuke, Cyriel Dessers, Terem Moffi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here